Mass in C Minor

7:30 pm

Snape Maltings


Mozart Solemn Vespers, K.339; Mass in C minor, K.427


Prometheus Orchestra
Edmond Fivet, Philip Reed conductors
Louise Kemeny soprano
Grace Durham mezzo-soprano
James Geer tenor
Julien Van Mellaerts bass

Mozart’s Solemn Vespers explores a wide variety of musical styles, from austere fugal writing to the radiant setting of the ‘Laudate Dominum’. His Mass in C minor – the most grandiose, dramatic and demanding of the composer’s choral works – juxtaposes the antique, ‘learned’ style of Handel and Bach with florid Italianate arias and ensembles that would not be out of place in one of his own operas.


Return to Diary